Record of Presidents and Vice Presidents of India

by admin

President of India is called the primary citizen of the nation. He’s the official head of the Indian state and the commander-in-chief of the Indian Armed Forces.

On the similar time, vice-President is Rajya Sabha’s ex- officio chairman. India has 14 presidents and 13 Vice-presidents until now.

The president of India is elected by an electoral faculty that features the members of each homes of the Parliament. Likewise, the vice chairman of India can also be elected.

An attention-grabbing reality is that an individual in presidential energy can resign by submitting the resignation letter to the Vice-President.

Right here’s a listing of Presidents of India, ranging from Dr. Rajendra Prasad to Ram Nath Kovind.

SL no Title Tenure Date Description
1 Dr. Rajendra Prasad
(1884 – 1963)
26 Jan 1950 – 13 Could 1962 On December 3rd, 2019
India has celebrated the 135th delivery anniversary of Dr. Rajendra Prasad,
the primary President of the nation.
In his life, he has performed the position of a instructor and a lawyer.
When India turned a republic in 1950, he was elected as the primary president by the Constituent Meeting.
2 Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
(1888 – 1975)

13 Could 1962 – 13 Could 1967 A well-known Indian thinker and professor, Dr. Radhakrishnan
was the primary vice-president and second president of India.
His birthday is widely known as Academics’ Day yearly on fifth September. In 1954, he was honored with Bharat Ratna, the very best civilian award within the nation.
3 Dr. Zakir Husain
13 Could 1967 –
3 Could 1969
He was an amazing educationist and was the founding father of Jamia Milia Islamia.For his devoted work within the schooling discipline, he was awarded Padma Vibhushan within the 12 months 1954 and for his service for the nation,
Bharat Ratna was awarded in 1963.It was in his workplace in 1969, he died of a sudden coronary heart assault.
4 V. V. Giri (Varahagiri Venkata Giri)
Could 03, 1969 – July 20, 1969
August 24, 1969 – August 24, 1974
The one president to be elected as an impartial nominee, V. V. Giri was born in Odisha. In 1969, after president Zakir Husain’s loss of life in 1969, V.V. Giri turned the performing president after which was elected for the place of President with a slender majority.
5 Justice Mohammad Hidayatullah
20 July 1969 – 24 August 1969
6 October 1982 – 31 October 1982
Mohammad Hidayatullah, who served because the 11 Indian Chief Justice and 6th Vice President was additionally the nation’s performing President for 2 phrases, following V.V. Giri’s resignation from the performing President place. In 2003, The Hidayatullah Nationwide Regulation College was established in Raipur in honor of Justice Hidayatullah
6 Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed
24 August 1974 – 11 February 1977 An lively participant of the Indian Freedom Motion, and a powerful member of the Indian Nationwide Congress since 1925, Dr. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed was born in Delhi. On February 1977, identical to Dr. Zakir Husain, he additionally died of a coronary heart assault whereas being within the place.
7 Neelam Sanjeeva Reddy
25 July 1977 – 25 July 1982 Often known as the youngest Indian president ever, Neelam Sanjiva Reddy was the CM of Andhra Pradesh, the place he was born. He additionally served because the Lok Sabha Speaker twice in 1967 and 1977 respectively.   He died resulting from pneumonia in Bengaluru (Bangalore) within the 12 months 1996.
8 Giani Zail Singh
25 July 1982- 25 July 1987 Zail Singh was the nation’s first and solely Sikh president. He received occupied in politics after being moved by Bhagat Singh’s execution. Later he turned part of the Indian freedom motion. In 1972, he turned Punjab’s Chief Minister and Indian president in 1982.
9 Ramaswamy Venkataraman
25 July 1987 – 25 July 1992 Born in Madras presidency, Ramaswamy Venkataraman was an Indian lawyer and he practiced regulation within the Madras Excessive Court docket and the Indian Supreme Court docket. Eighth president and the seventh vice chairman of the nation, he was additionally a participant within the historic Stop India Motion.
10 Dr. Shankar Dayal Sharma
25 July 1992 – 25 July 1997 Born within the state of Bhopal, Shankar Dayal Sharma served the presidential place from 1992 to 1997. His contribution to the authorized occupation has made him a recipient of the ‘Residing Legends of Regulation Award of Recognition’ by the Worldwide Bar Affiliation. In 1984, he was appointed because the governor of Andhra Pradesh state after which Punjab governor in 1985
11 Kocheril Raman Narayanan (Okay.R.Narayanan)
25 July 1997 – 25 July 2002 Born in Kottayam district, Kerala, Okay.R. Narayanan was the primary Dalit president of the nation. He was additionally the primary sitting president to vote basically elections (1998).  A member of INC, he additionally served as India’s ambassador to the USA in addition to China.
12 Dr. A.P.J Abdul Kalam
25 July 2002 – 25 July 2007 A profitable aerospace scientist often called the “Missile man of India”, who develop up from poverty. Dr. Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam was born in Tamil Nadu. His autobiography was essentially the most inspiring Wings of Hearth. The nation honored him with Padma Vibhushan in 1990 and Bharat Ratna in 1997.
13 Pratibha Singh Patil
25 July 2007 – 25 July 2012 The primary and solely girl to be the President of India, Pratibha Patil was a lawyer by occupation. She additionally served because the Governor of Rajasthan from 2004 to 2007 and was additionally Cupboard minister underneath Maharashtra authorities numerous occasions. Additionally she represented the nation in a number of worldwide councils.
14 Pranab Mukherjee
25 July 2012 – 25 July 2017 The 13th Indian president, Pranab Mukherjee turned lively in politics in 1969 underneath the steerage of Indira Gandhi. He has additionally served as minister in defence, commerce, overseas, and finance sector throughout his profession. The nation has honored him with the Padma Vibhushan in 2008
15 Ram Nath Kovind
25 July 2017 – up to now The present president of India, Ram Nath Kovind is serving the place since 2017. A lawyer by occupation, he has practiced within the Excessive Court docket in addition to the Supreme Court docket in Delhi. He additionally served because the Governor of Bihar in 2015.

Presidents of India – by Timeline

Presidents of India - by Timeline

Record of Vice Presidents of India

Sl No Title Tenure Date
1 Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 13 Could 1952 – 12 Could 1957
13 Could 1957 – 12 Could 1962
2 Dr. Zakir Hussain 13 Could 1962 – 12 Could 1967
3 Dr. V.V Giri 13 Could 1967 – 3 Could 1969
4 Gopal Swarup Pathak 31 August 1969 – 30 August 1974
5 BD Jatti 31 August 1974 – 30 August 1979
6 Mohammad Hidayatullah 31 August 1979 – 30 August 1984
7 R. Venkataraman 31 August 1984 – 24 July 1987
8 Shankar Dayal Sharma 3 September 1987 – 24 July 1992
9 Okay R Narayanan 21 August 1992 – 24 July 1997
10 Krishan Kant 21 August 1997 – 27 July 2002
11 Bhairon Singh Shekhawat 19 August 2002 – 21 July 2007
12 Mohammad Hamid Ansari 11 August 2007 – 11 August 2012
13 Venkaiah Naidu 11 August 2012 – 11 August 2017
12 August 2017 – Incumbent


India, with its assorted and wealthy cultural heritage, has achieved all-round socio-economic progress since Independence.

Hope this weblog lets you determine the good personalities who occupied the positions of President and Vice-Presidents in India.


You may also like